2021 Tenured and Emeriti Faculty

Tenured and Emeriti

Promoted with Tenure

Promoted to Associate Professor, with Tenure

  • Barry Driscoll, political science
  • Logan M. Lee, economics
  • Nick D. Phillips, Spanish

Promoted from Associate Professor to Associate Professor with Tenure

Hâle Utar, Sidney Meyer Chair in International Economics

2021 Emeriti Faculty

Grinnell honored seven faculty members retiring in 2021 for their years of service and bestowed on them the title of emeritus or emerita faculty:

David ArseneaultDavid M. Arseneault, associate professor of physical education, for bringing an innovative and successful approach to both men’s and women’s sports at Grinnell.

George BarlowGeorge Barlow, associate professor of English, for highlighting the very best of the arts and humanities in Iowa and giving students the tools and confidence to create their very best work. Jean Ketter, professor of education, for her work to develop smart, engaged teachers who were energized and equipped to make a meaningful difference in the education system from within it.

Janet GibsonJanet Gibson, professor of psychology, for finding creative and ambitious ways to pursue her research and for embodying the best of what it means to be a professor at Grinnell.

John StoneJohn Stone, senior lecturer in computer science, for his commitment to teaching and for modeling the strengths of a liberal education.

Henry WalkerHenry Walker, Samuel R. and Marie-Louise Rosenthal professor of natural science and mathematics and professor of computer science, for being a fierce champion for his students and for his extensive contributions to the fields of mathematics and computer science education nationally and internationally.

Greg WallaceGreg Wallace, associate professor of physical education, for his decades of dedicated coaching and for his efforts to make athletics and recreation an open and welcoming activity for students and community members alike.

Share / Discuss